Folks rejoice, I have returned!

So I have come to the conclusion that as an artist you never think about how much work you’ve made until you have to move all of it from one place to another. I found a ton of stuff; some good, some o.k. and some downright awful. The awful stuff found a home in the dumpster. I had a teacher that always scolded us for throwing stuff away. “That’s your history!” she’d exclaim. But I really don’t think that painting 1 studies of assortments of random stuff really count…In any case, the work I did keep still took up so much space in my storage room so I’m in the process of hanging all of it…which makes you realize that you’ve made more good work than bad work 🙂 I found some stuff that I had forgotten about that made me think “Hm…I like this. To heck with the bad critique I got on it!” (more on that piece later in this post)

Salon style hanging is great when you have a lot of different sized works

Salon style hanging is great when you have a lot of different sized works

So that’s one of the walls in my living room it’s kind of cool because all the seating is tilted towards that wall so when I’m drawing or something I have a bit of work the motivate and influence my thought process.

There will be no bare walls!

There will be no bare walls!

When I open the storage room door there’s even more to look at lol.

Bad critiques be darned!

Bad critiques be darned!

So the piece with the figure and balloons and what not…yah…I got a horrible concept critique on it because it was so introspective and had an emmotional breakdown in the middle of it…but now looking back on it, that’s pretty much what art school is for 😉

Stay tuned folks!

Comments are closed.