Blue Bean Tree a.k.a. Dead Man’s Fingers

So I read a little more about this plant I’m painting and apparently the other name for it is “dead man’s fingers” (info found at http://richfarmgarden.com/decaisnea.HTML) which I found odd but whatever. This is the first non flower in this short series of tiny paintings but I do like the potential for new contexts…For instance, the finger like pods of the blue bean tree are edible and have a sweet flavor. Also odd for something called dead man’s fingers lol. This is still a heavily decorative painting but I think that the people that already know about this plant (that have not read this post) might have a more interesting experience with it….or they’ll think it’s lame lol. I think the plant looks kindof magical…like if you ate a pod you’d turn into a smurf or something 🙂

Comments are closed.