Now That’s a Challenge

I ended 09 having produced over 25 paintings in the last few months. Now in the second week of the new year, I haven’t made anything. In my studio I have a huge piece of paper taped to the wall and ready for pastel. It’s been taunting me for the past 3 weeks. I have a small half started painting that I started 2 weeks ago…and I haven’t touched it since. While it’s true that I’m not feeling all that inspired, I don’t think that is the issue. The issue is something I like to call “supply anxiety”. In organizing all my tools yesterday I took an inventory of what colors I have and how many of each and have come to the conclusion that I have  enough pastels to make one large red, green, yellow (ochre), and pinch of blue and violet something. And I don’t have white….or cream, eggshell, off white, not even the lightest gray. Yes, it’s irritating I know lol. Even more irritating is that I have LOTS of black, burnt umber, and charcoal.

Out of frustration I issued myself a challenge. One drawing, made with only the colors I have, and just to be difficult I made poppies as the subject matter off limits.

Now that the challenge is out in the open on the world wide web I have to do it! Or at least give it a try, and that is exactly what I intend to do. I would set a time limit but I don’t want to rush and make something lame because that would be an irresponsible waste of pastel….so here goes with any luck something new and wonderful. Stay tuned folks!

Comments are closed.