Sketches and yoga

Over the years I have learned that as artists we tend to have certain habits (good and bad) that are unique to creative thinkers. We adopt elitist mindsets (even if we never let other people see them), keep long, odd hours, guzzle more coffee than water, and work our bodies beyond exhaustion for the sake of letting the creative juices flow. On the flip side we constantly challenge ourselves, pushing the limits of our creativity in order to grow into ourselves and hone our skills. As a result of our combined efforts, we may suffer from fatigue, repetitive strain injuries and malnutrition. As I have been making these observations in myself I’ve been beginning to make life adjustments that will aid me when I am ready to pull my hair out as a deadline is approaching. This body of work that I am making for an upcoming show has been influencing my daily yoga practice (which seriously cuts down the art related soreness) and vise versa. By taking a much closer look and cropping in on a specific section of my subject matter I have been able to see beautiful things that would have been missed had I taken a more generalized approach. I feel that this concept is the same when observing one’s self.

I apologize for the light interference there after I talked about all the colors in the white lol. You’ll just have to see it in person at the show on April 24th! 🙂 That’s all for now stay tuned folks!

Leave a Reply

