The thing about 16 bit versions…

Is that when you’re cramming your brain with as much information as I have been, you tend to forget about them lol. I’ve got to say I’m getting quite a bit of millage out of this Mustang model,  I’m working on a new image that I rendered out of Bunkspeed this weekend for a studio visit that happened yesterday. (More about that later :-D).

So here’s the full image! Before and afters can be found in my portfolio.

This was a learning experience for sure. I was still pretty new to Bunkspeed at the time so it was kindof like flying a plane while trying to build it lol. I wanted to work with render passes which Bunkspeed doesn’t really do so I made psuedo passes with some material trickery and a bit of Photoshop magic.  I started with a diffuse pass which I used later on to make my paint color. After that I added specular, reflection, and warm/cool passes. I composited the passes in Photoshop to create what is called a beauty pass (I’m simplifying this explanation so no one falls asleep :-))  and from there I started painting. In case you read the 8 bit version of this project the part of the car that is all paint is the headlights/fog lamps which was my favorite part. Making the paint color was fun too once I figured out how to make it look like car paint and not shiny plastic. I also did a bit of work on the wheels with the rubber on the tires (armor-all effect holla!), the reflections in the rims and added the  Ford logos in the center of the rims.

Still awake? Sweet! So back to the studio visit. Not only did I get to see the inner workings of an award winning cg/retouching/animation studio and chat with one of the founders, I got to meet one of my heroes (the other founder) and it pretty much made my day. And yes I totally called my mom to tell her. 🙂

I’m currently working on a new Mustang piece. I found a night time city street backplate that I painted up all rich and mysterious and I’m playing with different effects that studios use to make cars look sweet; motion blur, selective color,  etc. I’m thinking about working some rain/mist into the scene but I might have to save that for the next project 😉 Maybe I’ll pick up Real Flow or Particular and make some particle effects (mmmmmm particlesssss lol)…probably overkill but I have been known to use Nuke for color corrections instead of Photoshop.

In other news, I have some pastels that will be part of Janice Charac’s 20th aniversary retropective show on the 22nd (more info in the exhibitions tab) so feel free to check them out 🙂 That’s all for now, stay tuned folks!

Leave a Reply

